June 5, 2008

GSoC – Week 1

Posted in OpenMRS tagged , , at 7:27 am by nribeka

Wow it’s been a while since I post on this blog hehe … Today just a recap of what I did last week. So here it is:

Last Week

What we did in the patient matching project team is mainly discussing about the possibilities of further step that we will take for the second phase of project. Shaun proposed the idea of OpenMRS patients de-duplication module which will beneficial for the OpenMRS (and me because I will have the chance to learn more about the anatomy of the OpenMRS module). Initially there are two options proposed by Shaun Grannis to acomplished the de-duplication process as we can see in the patient matching project wiki page. But in the end, we decided to improve current patient matching module by adding the new de-duplication feature.

So, as the consequences of this decision, I will have to learn about “adding web pages” to the current patient matching module. Originally the patient matching module only work from behind the screen, intercepting method call and wrap it up with AOP. Because de-duplication process will be user trigered process we need to put a page to put “something” that will trigger the de-duplication process.

Next Week

First thing that I must do is reading. Yes, it’s reading time again. This time I need to read the module documentation to find out how to add those webpages. Other devs, Keelhaul, point me out to this extension point page. Both, Keelhaul and bmckown said that it will adding webpages is pretty straightforward (for them hehehe ….). While bwolfe told me to get one of the module from the repos and study it hehehe … Seems to lots of reading documentation and reading codes this week.

PS: bwolfe, bmckown and Keelhaul is the irc nick name of OpenMRS developers. You can find them (and me) at #openmrs inside irc.freenode.net

Leave a comment